I’m Not the Same Me I Used to Be

How do you know what you believe?

“All This Time” by Britt Nicole is a song talking about how God was always there no matter what. The bridge particularly hits me when it says: “I hear these people asking me- How do I know what I believe? Well, I’m not the same me, and that’s all the proof I need! I felt love, I felt Your grace. You stole my heart that day.” (“All This Time” by Britt Nicole)

This songs says that she knows what she believes because “I’m not the same me, and that’s all the proof I need!”

Have you trusted God’s promises and felt your life turn around? When you surrender your life to Christ, like the song says, the proof you have is your life change- you’re not who you used to be.

2 Corinthians 5:17 says: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

Being in Christ is belonging to Christ. You are His child and cannot be taken from Him (Romans 8:38-39). With Him in your life, you will strive to be more like Him. You are a new creation.

Accepting Christ is going from death to life. Your soul was spiritually dead before knowing Christ. But there is a difference between knowing Christ and knowing Christ.

People all over the world know who Christ is, but they do not have a personal relationship with Him. That’s the difference- having the knowledge of Christ and personally knowing and interacting with Him.

Have you ever been able to tell people “I’m not the same me I used to be”? Maybe you accepted Christ into your life in the past, and recommitted your life to him. Or maybe God put you through something that changed your life for His glory and purpose.

The latter is more relevant for my life. I can tell people that my recent life change was the recent blooming of Christ in my heart. Yes, I accepted Christ as a young child; but it wasn’t until the summer and fall of 2014 when I saw a complete turn-around in my life… And I’ve never been so happy, satisfied, and content!

Can you tell people that you’re not the same person you used to be?

One thought on “I’m Not the Same Me I Used to Be

  1. The great thing is HE isn’t finished yet…. It is a great thing to give your life for Jesus when you are young bec you have so many more years to live for Him and be available for His work than those who come to Him later. They don’t have as much to give Him.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

