My Insecurity Poem

“Grades, grades” is all I hear

Like a clock ticking inside my ear.

“Try your hardest and do your best,

And study real hard for that big test.”

What if I try hard and fail?

Will all my work be to no avail?

I know everything now affects my life,

But sometimes all it feels like is strife.

What if I’m not valedictorian?

What would be my story then?

Often I feel like I’m not good enough

And I’m always overwhelmed by all this stuff.

But God’s gentle voice tells me it will all be okay

That I just need to listen to what He has to say.

I am loved no matter what,

And He will direct me even if a door is shut.

Grades do not define my worth;

I am loved by the Creator of the earth.

Let me know what you think!

