1 John 4:19

Recently, with school starting back, that means that schedules will be getting crazy again! But I am hoping that today is the start of my weekly writing again! I have missed writing so much and am so glad to be back!

After church today, I was listening to As Isaac, and a particular line from “My Hope and Anchor Stay [I Love You Too]” that really struck my heart.

” Jesus, I love You too. Jesus, I love You too. Jesus, I love You, only because You loved me first. I don’t deserve it. I cannot earn it. I’m lost in Your love. It’s always enough. I couldn’t love You until You loved me. I’m lost in Your love. It’s already shown for me.”

I have already talked about how God Himself is love, but it really hit me that we truly do only love Him because He loved us first.

Even in our brokenness and unfaithfulness, God still loved and loves us. Ultimately proving that love by coming and sending His Son to the earth to die in our place.

We all have made mistakes and because of that, we all deserve God’s wrath.

But in His love, in Him, He chose to put the weight of His wrath of the shoulder’s of Jesus as He died on the cross, now seeing Jesus’ righteousness when He looks at us.

1 John 4:19 says that “we love because He first loved us.”

WE CAN ONLY LOVE GOD BECAUSE HE FIRST SHOWED US LOVE.

Even when we did not want God, He relentlessly pursued us to display His love.

God does not need us. God does not need anything.

BUT HE CHOSE US!

He chose us and loves us. He loves us not because He has to, but because HE WANTS TO.

Because God loves us, we can love Him back. In His eyes, our sin has become as white as snow because of Jesus’s death (Isaiah 1:18).

Why would you not want to love Him? He is Your Creator. Your Savior. Your Deliverer. Your Father. Your Hope. Love Himself.

We should want to scream out “Jesus, I love You too! I love You because You loved me first!”

We have been shown and given the love of God in Jesus Himself, so we should give that love back to Him in wholehearted worship and share His love with others willingly.

The song lyrics ring true. We don’t deserve it. We cannot earn it. Yet, even as we don’t deserve it, He still gives it to us as a free gift, and we are lost and drowning in that love, and it is always enough.

He chose us, and He chose to love us.

We are filthy and make tons of mistakes, but He still loves us and extends His grace to us. There is no where we can run that is too far from God. He has his arms wide open when you run back, and He will relentlessly pursue you and your heart to have you back in His arms again.

THAT IS LOVE.

AND JESUS, I LOVE YOU TOO NOT BECAUSE I AM WORTHY. I AM DREADFULLY UNWORTHY. BUT I CAN LOVE YOU BECAUSE YOU LOVED ME FIRST. THANK YOU FOR LOVING ME EVEN WHEN I WAS AND AM UNLOVABLE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR FREE GRACE. THANK YOU FOR TAKING MY PLACE AND GIVING ME YOUR RIGHTEOUSNESS. JESUS, I TRULY DO LOVE YOU. NOT BECAUSE OF MY OWN STRENGTH, BUT BECAUSE OF YOURS AND YOUR RELENTLESS PURSUIT OF MY HEART NO MATTER WHAT. THANK YOU FOR YOU LOVE AND GRACE THAT OVERFLOWS MY LIFE AND DROWNS MY HEART. THANK YOU, JESUS, FOR DYING IN MY PLACE.

2 thoughts on “1 John 4:19

Let me know what you think!

