What is my passion?

A few months ago, I asked myself a long list of questions to sum up my life. I asked myself what I loved. What makes my heart beat? What is the reason I wake up in the morning and the thing that puts a smile on my face before I go to sleep? What do I constantly think about? What is the reason behind my purpose which God ordainly chose for me?

Basically all of these questions could be summed up into one question:

WHAT IS MY PASSION?

passion- the object of any strong desire

IMG_0035

My passion, my love, and purpose is missions, specifically adoption and working with children. I’ve always loved helping and encouraging people, and I knew I was in a Christian school for a reason. I knew there was a reason I was the oldest of four. I knew there was a reason I love kids and want to give them my all. I knew there was a reason I serve in preschool. I knew there was a reason a work at a daycare with tons of kids each day.

Growing up, I always wanted to be something different. a doctor. a teacher. a singer. a writer. but whenever it boiled down to it, even as a toddler, I just wanted to be a mom. I remember when I could barely talk I would tell people I was going to adopt a little girl from China. As occupation options have come and gone, my heart’s desire is to be a mom. I want to adopt to show children the love that God showed me that even when no one wants us He does and He loves us. I want children of every skin tone and ethnicity to be mine, to have my last name. They will be equal with my biological children, grafted into my family forever- just as God took us and grafted us into His family tree because He loved us.

Whether I end up on the mission field full-time or not, God has a plan for my life, and it is to help further and multiple His Kingdom. I will either being a mom across the world sharing the Gospel with nations who have never heard it and holding orphans who yearn for God’s love, or I will be a mom stateside raising my children in the Gospel. Both are equally important and full of responsibly. Being a mom is the hardest and most important job ever.

IMG_1860

Missions is my passion and the reason my heart beats. I wake up every day knowing there is someone out there I am awake to speak to. I go to sleep with a smile thinking of all the people I will one day meet. I yearn for countries I have never heard of and for children who are not yet born. I long for the dirty kisses of little ones who long to be loved and I want to show them that love. I constantly think of the millions of children needing my hug and yearning for the love of God that I can show them. My heart beats for them, and my heart physically aches when I think of how horrible their lives are right now. I love children, and I love children I have never met. I pray for the children out in the world now, and I pray for the parents of the children yet to be born- especially the parents of the children that will one day be mine.

That’s my heartbeat. That’s my passion.

I long to be in the dirt with poor children and I long for them to be climbing all over me covering me in slobbery kisses. I want to hold their hands as we walk down jungle paths and hold them tight during a thunderstorm. I long to call those children my own through adoption, to show them the love God has shown me.

4 thoughts on “What is my passion?

  1. You have an amazing heart. It is a blessing that God chose me to be your mom and train you for a short while until He is ready to launch you out into the world for His Glory. ❤️

    “Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope and pray that your passion is contagious. Deuteronomy 6:5 sums it up by saying that you should love God with EVERYTHING! That is the type of passion that He has for you and He wants you to display to others. You may already know this, but the word passion comes from Latin passio ‎(“suffering”) – Jesus had so much passion that He gave Himself up on the cross. That is how much love He has for you (and others). Your passion says a lot about you and your desire to follow Him. As long as you focus on Him, you will be on the right path!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey girl! Thanks for your comment over on my blog! Wow! Both from Birmingham! That’s so cool! When I get home later this year we should definitely connect! I was a member at Brook Hills too! We were there for 17 years before God directed my family to a different church. I love where we are now, but I will never forget what a lasting impact was made on my life because of the missional messages shared at BH.

    You have an awesome blog and I am encouraged by your love for Jesus and boldness to proclaim the gospel as well! Keep up the great work, Gabby!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

