one year later

today as i sat at a baseball scrimmage, i started thinking about last year’s baseball season- and i am so glad my life is not the way i thought it would be. 


…and i have never been so glad that my life has changed so much in one year. 

i’m not the same girl i was a year ago. 

in the past year i gained self-confidence, and don’t care what others think about me because all that matters is what God thinks of me. 

i’ve made real friends this year, and i can finally be grateful for all those lonely years growing up if this is what i was waiting for. 

if you would’ve asked me a year ago what my life would look like now, it would look completely different than the life i’m living… and i’m so glad it’s different than what i wanted a year ago. 

i’ve learned and grown so much. yes, i made mistakes and some choices that probably weren’t the best, but God has used all of my experiences to shape me into the person i’ve always been meant to be. 

life is not easy- no where near easy. but i’ve learned that with Jesus on my side i can persevere even when it seems impossible because with God all things are possible. 


i’ve always wanted to be a planner and write the timeline of what my future will be like, but i’m slowly realizing day by day that God really does know what’s best. 

yes, it will probably hurt. yes, it isn’t always what i think i want. but God always knows what’s best for me and He is working all things for my good and His glory. 

the waiting is hard. 

sometimes i wish life was quick and i could just jump into the parts of life i’m excited for. college. marriage. motherhood. 

but as a mentor told me earlier this year, the valleys in life may be the low parts, but if you look at a valley, that is where the most growth is. it may be low, but the grass and flowers are beautiful. 

growth happens in the hard parts of life and you have a choice. you can either let the hard times cripple you or you can grow and learn from it. 

life is hard. 

but i have decided that i’m not going to let my little disappointments or fickle plans control my thoughts, emotions, and life. 

i don’t always know what God is doing, but i can honestly say that He knows what He’s doing and He is working all things for my good. 

and i’ve decided that i’m going to grow. 

3 thoughts on “one year later

  1. Good stuff. 💕 I’m proud of you.

    “Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s good to hear from you again. You have great insight and encouragement. I agree with what you have said. God definitely has a plan for us and many times His ways are not our ways. God bless you Gabby!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you Drew! thank you also for your weekly encouragement and boldness in your worship covers! it is a great reminder to me that there are other teenagers out there with a passion for the Lord as well! i’m praying that God richly blesses your passions and dreams! romans 12:1-2

      Like

Let me know what you think!

